• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Summa Dc5sx issues, Frustrated with myself

Gray91

Good afternoon everyone. I am new to the world of vinyl printing so forgive me for possibly sounding dumb. I bought a used Dc5sx from a local graphics company about 9 months ago and this machine is far above my pay grade. So heres the deal, through some expiramentation I got the printer to print my logo on vinyl, the problem is I cannot make it make contour cuts, and through screwing around I have lost everything I gained and now I get a 'fatal drum error' which is when I quit and walked away about 3 months ago. I walked past the machine today and tought to myself, I should do something with this $2,200 paperweight ive never used.

That being said heres my biggest issues
I am getting conflicting info weather or not Airmark offers any factory support for these machines anymore as well as how long ribbons and replacement parts will be available.
I am being told the machine will only run off an almost obsolete/ hard to find version of AI
Ive gotten the machine to print a couple times, the colors were not as displayed but I was happy it worked at all but ive never had it cut contours
finally, from what I understand the fatal drum error could be something as easy as the machine needs a good cleaning

Can someone shed some light on my issues, I hate to sell the machine as non working but im afraid thats whats coming

Garett

FrankW

In the manual of the printer, downloadable at www.summa.eu , you will find a description how to make contour cut (chapter 3.1). The plugin is supported up to Illustrator 2020, but you can also import for example EPS-Files directly into Summa Color Control.