• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Transparency Issue

egood81

I recently purchased a Roland SP-300V and I am having issues with transparency. I am using Illustrator. I am printing a graphic which contains some transparent vector logos. I save the file as a PDF. When I open the file in Versaworks the colors seem to be a bit off, maybe brighter/neon tone. I also used the text tool to add some text to the graphic but those appear to have a white box around them when viewed in Versaworks.

Thank you in advance, I am new to a lot of this.

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide
I recently purchased a Roland SP-300V and I am having issues with transparency. I am using Illustrator. I am printing a graphic which contains some transparent vector logos. I save the file as a PDF. When I open the file in Versaworks the colors seem to be a bit off, maybe brighter/neon tone. I also used the text tool to add some text to the graphic but those appear to have a white box around them when viewed in Versaworks.

Thank you in advance, I am new to a lot of this.

The Preview in most RIPs is not an accurate rendition of the job but merely a place holder so you can setup the layout and copies etc. This saves the computer a ton of resources and loads the job into Versaworks faster. How does the job actually print?

oksigns

VanderJ said it... a preview is at a cost essentially.

However, your white box issue comes from the limitations of VW. You will need to flatten your print ready artwork as raster artwork AND then add your text. VW has issues with transparency effects and layers.

egood81