• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

What fonts do you use?

Rodi

I always wonder what fonts people use, from home users to car companies and every other type of business in between.

I am a graphic artist with a strong typography background (I worked at a typesetting business for 12 years). We had Linotype fonts (4 different libraries), Berthold Fonts, Varitype fonts, Film-o-fonts and some digital fonts.

Now being free from hardware to buying any fonts, I actually have a larger library than ever. My favorites are URW, they are not really cutting edge, but they are clean and varied. I have bought 2nd hand Typeworks 1 Mac & Typeworks 2 P.C. (thanks Fred, 500 fonts each with 5 variants outline, inline, relief, shadow, rounded), 2450 fonts that came with Canvas (bad program, beautiful fonts PC & Mac), 500 fonts that came with freehand 8 (great fonts, even better program) and 1200 fonts that came with 750,000 Nova Development clipart (mostly lousy clipart, great fonts). From Adobe I have PC and Mac fonts from Illustrator/pagemaker. I also have Softmaker Truetype fonts 10,000 (mixed bag, some lousy, some great Trutype now works for PC and Mac OSX). I also have the Bitstream 500 fonts.
I have organized fonts for many organizations (printshops, ad agencies, marketing companies) and keep fonts organized by foundry and in alphabetical order (down to the nitty gritty:). I have personally witnessed people who have had Zero fonts in their system folder and 3000 fonts in their system folder. I think people misunderstand fonts and file formats more than anything, especially people who should know more!
icon6.gif