• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Your favorite method to create cut contour lines?

Freese

Seems everybody does it their own way, and I am fairly new to print to cut.

I use Adobe Illustrator, so I guess I am asking the most efficient way to do it this route.

Also another print/cut question;

I use Onyx10 with an L25500 but also use Illustrator.

With a Graphtec FC8000, I can cut from Illustrator or Onyx Cut Server.

Anybody have a preference on which method to go in this case?

Appreciate all the help

James Burke

Being a grandpa is more fun than working
Hands down...AutoCAD...it's absolutely precise when I need it to be, plus it allows me the artistic flexibility to do bezier curves for free-form designing. It has a lot of other goodies not included in most design software. It (ACAD) "plays" very nicely with Adobe Illustrator and SignLab with nearly flawless .dxf / .dwg importing and exporting.

As you may already know, there's no single program that does absolutely everything...so that's why I especially appreciate the common ground between them.

99% all of our (non-text) artwork that gets waterjet or laser cut is done on AutoCAD.

JB

stephenj148

Hmmm. never thought of AutoCAD, I know of it, not familiar with it (or own it)

I personally have grown into using illustrator. I can quickly set up contourcut lines and I can organize everything the way that I'm COMFORTABLE. (I all capped that because I think its the most important piece) I've been learning on illustrator, I'm also a Graphic Designer so for me, Illustrator is my program

Aklaim

in Illy: Object< Path< Offset Path. Either a tad outside, or inside (negative) depending on what exactly I need to cut. And just for reference, I use the exact same equipment you do.

Custom_Grafx