• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

800 w - White ink Issue

Simon Peach

Hi all,

We've had our 800w installed for a week now and have just produced a large run on our optically clear PET film. - Its solid white in the centre fading into clear.

The issue is where the ink is solid white, it scratches clean off with the squeegee, we've used a couple of different types of squeegee, soft edges etc. - Just comes clean off.

Is there anything to be done with curing, heat etc to resolve this? - I'm new to HP machines and the manual; isn't giving me much info on adjustments.

Attachments

• IMG_0428.JPG
    IMG_0428.JPG
    1.3 MB · Views: 596

Mike Perth

Hi Simon
Have you checked that you’re putting down some overcoat? Look in the Advanced Settings in the profile on the printer screen as per the attached.
We’ve been printing on the clear with white using .5 overcoat and the white is stable. I can send the settings we’re using when I get in on Monday if required.
Mike

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2021-08-14 at 6.20.11 pm copy.jpg
    Screen Shot 2021-08-14 at 6.20.11 pm copy.jpg
    97 KB · Views: 350

Simon Peach

Thanks Mike
Was set to .5. - I've jacked it up to 2 and bought the curing temp from 85 top 110. - Will give that a try.

Mike Perth

Hi Simon, just double check the fade out to clear is clear, a setting of 2 may give you a haze in the clear area. Good luck.

Simon Peach

Hi Simon, just double check the fade out to clear is clear, a setting of 2 may give you a haze in the clear area. Good luck.
Thanks, Mike. - I'll have a play aorund. - I've created a new profile on the display panel on the HP, any idea how I get it to appear in Onyx for selecting?

Mike Perth