• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Anyone else noticed very premature laminate failures with turning black etc lately?

LenXIII

Hello Everyone,

So I wanted to reach out to the community and see if anyone has noticed their normal products failing much sooner than you are used to? Over the past year myself and several other local sign companies I am friends with have been having jobs turn black or dark brown in the light areas. We are located in Florida and have had some brutal heat the last couple of years but this is getting ridiculous. I have been using the same materials for the most part for 10 years now and am very used to how they hold up and what materials can be used for specific purposes.

In general when someone wants a cheap job that only needs to look good for a short time I use a 5 year general formulations vinyl with a intermediate laminate such as 3m 8508. (don't start with the miss matching brands of vinyl and laminate because in most cases it's BS and has no affect.) This product usually lasts 2-3 years outdoors in florida with NO issues but lately I have been having the prints turn black (which I assume is UV damage to the laminate) in as little as 2-3 months!! My bare prints without a laminate last 10 - 20 times longer than that!! I use eco solvent inks. My buddy uses HP latex inks and has 2-3 jobs around me that failed in 3 months as well using a 5 year arlon vinyl and laminate. Another company I know had a job fail in 5 months using 3m ij-40 with 8510 laminate and so have I.