• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Anyone having trouble with Oracal 751 falling off in a few days?

signmeup

I lettered 7 trucks last week and they sat in the yard waiting for satellite installs so have yet to turn a wheel on the road. The 751 decals on the air dams are literally falling off from the top down. I have been installing these decals in 751 for the past 8 years... several hundred trucks. This is the first time I have had this problem. Same prep as always. Seemed to cut, weed and install the same.

Anyone have any ideas on what has happened. The trucks also had black 751 installed on the sides at the same time that looks pristine.

Adrian

Attachments

• Peel1.jpg
    Peel1.jpg
    32.7 KB · Views: 104
  • Peel2.jpg
    Peel2.jpg
    228 KB · Views: 126

signmeup

Kinda wondering about that Baz. I only order the stuff in 10 yard rolls so it was fresh from my perspective. No telling how long my supplier had it though. I get about 18 of these decals out of 10 yards so I'm also wondering why the previous 10 haven't done this.

Adrian

Speedsterbeast

I'd be very surprised if that's old stock if it's just 751 white from a supplier.
Any chance that someone used a pressure washer to clean those when you were done?
Because if you imagine sweeping with a wand from left to right then back again as you go down the surface it screams pressure washer to me

jfiscus

Rap Master
It might be a certain type of wax that was applied to only those panels? I know there is something that is as bad as armor-all on some new cars that our installers hate; they say they have to take the torch to it to remove it.

signmeup

I'd be very surprised if that's old stock if it's just 751 white from a supplier.