• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Applying Heat to Glass

DPD

I guess the easiest solution is to use this as a learning experience. Tell them an hour and time yourself. Take a pic of the job print it out and write the time it takes on the sheet. Then you know for next time. Eat the extra labor if it takes you longer. Then you have a good idea for the next job. Sometimes that's just what you have to do if it's something new you are doing. The first guy just gets a deal and the next guy pays the correct price. I've done that with several different jobs that are new to me.

I have a habit of over-estimating my time. In another life I was a computer programmer. When I moved into computer consulting the client would ask "how long?". The rule of thumb is typically to take my number and triple it. I guess I never got out of that habit because I find I'm either right on the money with my time estimates or I'm over. Rarely am I under.

I also have my own rule of thumb: be nice to myself. If I'm going to estimate it is going to be in my favor. Sure, you win some and lose some but then again if you're winning them all then your prices are too low.