• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

color profiling lessons

apex

i am new to this printing business and i have noticed a few times that my colors have been off and i cant seem to understand hot to fix them.
is there any place that offers training for color profiling and spot colors and just about everything i need to know about colors in order to get the best colored and quality prints?

eye4clr

A good start would hopefully be your dealer. But that's less likely than it should be.

Start with a good foundation of striving to use media profiles in your RIP that are actually for your printer/media/rip combination. That should improve the output aspect reasonably well.

Second, make sure your design applications have the Working Space profiles setup to sRGB and US Web Coated SWOP. Then have your RIP's input profiles setup to match. This should take care of 99% input problems.

Learn to adjust colors in CMYK -and- RGB. There are lots of books on editing color. Dan Margulis (spelling?) has many excellent books but is very CMYK centered. Never the less, he provides some excellent tools.

This is a VERY superficial list but at least some kind of direction on what can be an endless endeavor.

sjm

Second, make sure your design applications have the Working Space profiles setup to sRGB and US Web Coated SWOP. Then have your RIP's input profiles setup to match. This should take care of 99% input problems.

Why not just set your RIP to use the embedded profile? Why worry about input profiles?

apex

A good start would hopefully be your dealer. But that's less likely than it should be.