• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Cutting 0125 Aluminum on Dimension 200

heymatthew

Hello all,
I'm new to the Gerber Routers and am using a Dimension 200 with T-Vac, etc. I'm trying to cut some 0125 Aluminum and I keep snapping bits.

I'm using the Gerber lubricant through the compressor system with the small black nozzle/hose aimed directly at the bit to keep it well oiled. There's a very fine mist coming out, which I'm assuming is correct. If this sounds incorrect, please let me know if I'm doing something wrong.

Is there anything that I can do differently to keep from snapping bits?

My settings are as follows:
Bit: 3/16 Belin Aluminum Bit
Total Depth: .125
Depth Per Pass: .042
Total Passes: 3
Feed Rate: 20
RPM: 18000

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I've had great luck with PVC, Extira, Acrylic, etc. The aluminum is snapping bits 30 seconds in (or less) every time. I think my boss is going to start taking them out of my checks. :)

Regards,
Matthew Morse
TheSignChef.com
Charleston, SC

Last edited:

daveb

General Know-it-all
What's your feed rate, we cut .125 on our Sabre in one pass with a 25-30 feed rate.

daveb

General Know-it-all
You can bump up the rpm if you want to but I don't think that's your problem. The only thing I can think of is the aluminum is too soft. I you didn't tell your supplier you were going to rout it they could have sold you 5051 or something that wasn't meant for routing. You need 2024 or some similar alloy. Is there burrs all around the edges where you're cutting? Does the aluminum come out of the bit in chips or goobers? If you're using a good mist coolant and a carbide bit you shouldn't be having a problem unless you've got the wrong aluminum. Check with your supplier and see what you got.

John L