• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Few questions about CJV-30-130

121a

Hello everyone, first post on these forums! Well a little information about myself and the company I work part time for...

My name is Ryan and I work for a vehicle lettering/pin striping/sign company here in Chicago. It is a family business and I work part time as a computer tech/vinyl weeder/printer. Having said that we have two Graphtec 24" plotters and finally took the plunge and invested in the Mimaki CJV-30-130 and Seal 54" laminater (after realizing we were loosing some jobs that required digital printing). Quite a lot to embrace at first as we have only worked with SignLab 7.1 and had to quickly transition to Adobe Illustrator and Fine Cut/Rasterlink. Well it has been about a 2 months and we are very happy with the Mimaki. We have gotten pretty fluent with Adobe as well as Fine cut. However we have run into a few quirks if you will and I want to see if anyone has any ideas on how to resolve these issues.

The first one seems to be a semi-common problem among the CJVs, that is cutting. When doing a simple rectangular sticker with a black outline (with bleed over) the cutter never gets equal amounts of border. The top is almost always less than the bottom. Now I have tried recalibrating the laser light for the registration mark finder and I have reduced the cutting speed per the manual. Crop mark detection is set to 4pt in Rasterlink. We are not really concerned about cut speed, rather cut accuracy. Is there anything to improve cutting accuracy that I have not done already?