• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Greetings from Cape Breton Island, Canada. New to the industry.

Mr.Ry

Hello everyone, and thanks for the acceptance to the community. I'm a new business owner and brand new to the sign making industry, and hoping to be able to learn what I need to be able to produce commercial signage as a service through my business, despite not having much direct experience (though a fair bit of relevant experience).

I hope I'm not the hated sort around here based on that, so I'll provide a quick rundown of my background to hopefully validate my existence here:

I'm 43 years old. Lived in Toronto, ON Canada for the entirety of my life until July 2023, which was when I had relocated to a rural area in west Cape Breton Island, NS, Canada. I had several varying careers in Toronto working as an IT technician, a field technician for a major telecom (ie, a "cable guy"), and as a unionized construction laborer. I learned a lot of different skills from working in such contrasting industries, but also learned that the reward for proficiency and hard work was often further expectation and exploitation with very little real progression. I moved out to Cape Breton the intention of breaking away from the grind that was killing me in the big city and to start up my own business with my savings, though I was not quite certain what that business would be.