• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Hello from NH

brandywine

My name is Yori, I have been doing graphic design and web design for a few years now, looking to expand into the sign market.

recently aquired a Vinyl Express Panther 24 with LXI sign master Pro bundle.

Just made my first sign this week...

I am looking for tips on procuring substrates for exterior signs like alumalite, coroplast and 4x8 sheets of solid or pre painted signs. Bought a few books and videos.

harder than it looked..... :)

Fred Weiss

Merchant Member
Welcome to our boards Yori.

Have you checked for sign supply distributors in your area? Many will stock commonly used substrates as well as provide advice on getting good results.

:signs101:

jimdes

New England Sign Supply - Woburn, MA
Plastic Supply - Manchester, NH
Artist & Craftsmen - Portland, ME
Garston - Haverhill, MA

Greg

There's also Supplies Unlimited in Wakefield, MA. They have general sign supplies (unsure on substrates) but they have vinyl, blades, equipment, etc. Seems to be a small family run business. They were friendly when I visited and picked up some app tape, blades, etc. for a rush job.

http://www.suppliesunlim.com/

You'll probably need to call or visit. Their web store ain't all its cracked up to be yet (imho).

brandywine

Greg,

thanks for the heads up... are you local .... I would like to find a local experienced shop to bring larger jobs to in trade for some mentoring...

yori

brandywine

replies

Thx to all for the info, it definately helps, i'll be on line tonight doing some research now ...

Yori is Russian but i'm 4th generation from Philadelphia.... my parents were hippies and I got stuck with the name :)