• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Help on Roland fj540 profiles and media pls

lovecanvas

Photo to canvas printing

Hi all,
Boy oh boy do I need help, our shop was due to open yesterday but for a week I have been trying in vain.
Sorry for this manuscript, would you believe this is actually the cut down version

Purchased Roland printer, bad result with profiles

I purchased a second hand Roland Hi Fi Pro II fj540 that included a PC with Win2000 and EFI Best Colorproof XXL that is profiled for Sihl media. As I’m new to Rips I spent 3 days messing, trying out different Sihl profiles with the included canvas roll. I also installed the copy of Roland Color Rip included with the printer. I went through and did test prints with all profiles that had a canvas setting.
The results ranged from very light prints to very oversaturated. Also prints had terrible red or blue Colour cast. After switching to the Roland Rip’s generic canvas setting the results were more favourable, especially after adjusting the colour levels to reduce the colour cast. I knew adjusting settings for every print isn’t a solution but it did make me relax a bit more.

Looked for companies that sell water based media with profiles
I started looking for UK suppliers that sold Roland certified media and ICC profiles. It seems to me, Roland have given up on the water based media, but the best I could come up with was breathingcoloruk.com who sell media and then produce RGB profiles.

Found company, but need to print direct from Photoshop to Roland