• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Help with resolution

design1111

Hi all, hoping you can help sort out an issue that I had with a recent bus wrap.

I am a graphic designer and did a wrap with a new shop that I've never used before. His requested file specs were 1:20 scale flattened @ 600dpi, and I was concerned that the final outcome @ 30dpi would look horrendous. He was unable to explain any further than "that's how the software works" and couldn't do a test print so I re-did the graphic as a fully vector graphic to ensure that it was scalable without coming out pixelated.

Well, come to find out he didn't scale the raster effects when he blew it up, so those were all at 30dpi and look horrible, so now I have a bus that has pixelated blurs everywhere.

Is there something I'm missing? Is it really "industry standard" to require 1:20 scale 600dpi flattened images for vehicle wraps? I swear I have seen wraps that have raster images at high resolution before.

Please help!

myront

CorelDRAW is best
We don't use templates here nor do we design in illustrator. CorelDraw allows designing at 1:1 scale. It wasn't until recently that illustrator finally jumped on board to allow designing at scale. We try to use the highest resolution raster elements available. Yes, sometimes when scaling an image the dpi drops in the 30 dpi range but we press on. Once the design is finalized we then export each "puzzle" piece as 150 dpi rgb using LZW Compression. The RIP program, Flexi, does it's magic and haven't had any complaints.

design1111

Thanks myront,

At your shop what would the file look like for a raster graphic when its sent to you? 1:1 scale @ >150 dpi?

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide
"that's how the software works"