• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Honest opinion on a printer ?

1leonchen

I am trying to get back on my feet and start up my shop again i have been working for a cleaning company for the last two months and it has been great. it pays my bills and i always have money in my pocket. but i got a call from one of my old customers and he wants me to do some indoor signs. quite honestly i have been subbing them out and i dont like the quality. but back to the subject i walked across a epson 7600 which is a steal under 500 . and i was thinking if it is worth while using it for the indoor posters. its a contract that is always repetitive they change it every month and a half and the prints are 18 by 22. no sunlight ever catches the stuff. but my problem is how do u move a printer like that. Epson wasn't much help. so i am asking the forum members is it worth wile and how do i transport it it will be in transit for two days.

Tony McD

I don't know much about this printer, but from searching it can use ultrachrome inks or photo dye inks. The ultrachrome should add some uv stability to the prints that the dye inks won't have. Looks like a decent printer for indoor stuff.

Most times I've seen printers moved, they take out the ink tanks, and there is usually a bracket of some sort that mounts to the printer to hold the print heads from moving.
Shipping these things is a crap shoot...depends a lot on who's hauling it and how much they care about getting it there in one piece. I bought a laser printer on e-bay several years ago, and I think they rolled it to my door. What a mess.

Jim Doggett