• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

HP 315 struggling with grey tones (light grey is pinkish)

depps74

I've been having this problem for a few years. Sometimes I can work around it, others I can't and just can't deliver a print that resembles the grey its supposed to be. Light grey/ sliver tones are printed with reddish hues. Regardless of material it happens. All my other tones and colors are printing fine. My printheads are fine. MY OPAS sensor is cleaned.

I've tried: alternate profiles, tweaking profiles, calibrating, recalibrating.
Then I tried, changing the tones and to overcompensate for the grey tones, but this can effect the other colors in the print.

Totally baffled (though I am new to printing so I am quite possible overlooking or just not doing something right).

balstestrat

Problem Solver
You say your printheads are fine but are they? How much usage do you have on them? How old are they?

Other than that you must have the correct profile for the material so the ICC profile is the correct one. Then do a colour calibration on that.

You could also try to clean the line sensor.

Caleb Jones

Stickerguy is right. I'd bet your LC head isn't working. Process gray without light cyan looks pink (sepia) The times when your grays print correctly, its probably true gray which is only using the black head.

If you're using Onyx for RIP, you have some good ink controls, we shifted all our cyan and magenta to the C & M heads when our LC/LM heads died. Basically converted our Roland XC540 to a CMYK machine. Prints great.

MF Matthew

"Give me PRINTING or give me DEATH"