• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Looking to purchase new setup

Vinh1219

looking to purchase a new Printer and Lam for the shop. Can someone help me out and give me some recommendations on what you guys think is suitable for Vehicle Wraps.

BigfishDM

Merchant Member
looking to purchase a new Printer and Lam for the shop. Can someone help me out and give me some recommendations on what you guys think is suitable for Vehicle Wraps.

HP Latex is an excellent choice for doing vehicle wraps, not out gassing either. Print, Laminate and install all same day when you have latex. You can't really do that with eco-solvent machines.

CL Visual

I would stay far away from latex machines. As a wrap installer, I have been given prints form latex many times and almost every time there is some sort of issue. Color changes from beginning of the roll to the end, registration being off over a 15' span by over an inch or two, etc. From what I hear, it has to do with the extreme heat needed to operate and nozzle size actually changes during long prints and creates different colors. They suck down a ton of power as well so you need to have 2 separate 220v outlets available for 1 machine. I am absolutely not an expert in latex so I recommend doing your research but those are the issues I see and hear a lot of complaints about.

There are a few questions I would have for you. Is this your first printer and your first laminator? How many wraps per week do you plan on printing on it? What is your overall budget? Will you be laminating calendared materials along with the cast films? Do you have any space or electrical restrictions?