• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Magnetic Sports Decals

Leyla

Hello,

I am a new member and am interested in creating circular magnet sports decals for automobiles. I would like magnetic decals to be multicolored. I have never worked with signs/decals/ before. I was looking at this as a way to generate some additional income.

I've tried to do a little research on the internet, and have put some pieces together, but I have some questions. So far, it appears to me that you can create these a number of different ways. First, by creating your design on a software like Corel Draw, printing the design on vinyl material, transferring vinyl onto the magnetic material, then laminating for protection, and then die cutting.

The other way, appears to be by screen printing directly onto the magnetic material. I am having trouble finding information regarding this method.

The first method appears to me to perhaps be the simplest and maybe most cost effective way to get started. Here are my questions:

1. Is my description of the 1st method somewhat correct?

2. Can I use an inkjet printer to print the designs onto the vinyl, and if so, what would be a viable vinyl media, and inkjet printer/ink? I am only interested in creating small 5" diameter circles. I don't see a need for large format printer.

3. Would above method/equipment/materials be adequate such that magnetic sign would last 3-5 years?

4. What would be a rough guess for $amount to get equipment needed. Die cutting is not a problem for me as I know of a local die cutter that can create dies and cut the material.

Any additional information or direction that you could direct me to would be appreciated!

Thanks to All!

Pat Whatley