• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Software Help Mimaki CG-61pro series *a fossil has found*

Vasilios Flets

self taught artist.
Hello guys!
Bill here from Greece.. 2 days ago i got a mimaki cg61 cutting plotter <<Dinosaur>> . unfortunately the working pc has been toss to garbage by the wife of the owner who died .
i have the plotter and its cables plus a CADlink adapter on the serial port side (to pc ) , i went at a local sign shop where i co-operate where the owner has a cg-50 <<dinosaur>> workhorse too since 2000s.
we tested the cg-61 and works perfectly except its rollers which need replacement and already purchased by aliexpress . the reason i am opening this topic is about its drivers and software stuff .
i m looking to make it work through an HP laptop 2019 model but seems impossible, i bought a usb to parallel cable and i m not sure if it may be a major problem for the connection . i am trying through virtual box / machine
running windows 7 to test different drivers i ve found on mimaki website but still i cant make it work. however after all these i have to find software to work with too. i ve tried trial version of SignGo and Easy Cut Studio just to see if it works but it doesn't even respond (plotter is ON, filled with roll , pressed < ROLL, it does its measurements , press remote etc) .
I do custom paint jobs and work mostly with airbrush motorcycle parts and helmets.
. i am using adobe illustrator to make my vector files . my buddy where i tested the plotter using corel draw but im not sure which plug in hes working with. FIneCut or else;
I believe trying by this laptop is a total failure but i still have to give it one more try tomorrow because a friend mentioned to me that i have to create a serial port through the virtual machine.