• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Mimaki printing wrong colors!

TheSnowman

I am having trouble w/ a project right now. I have (2) 10' X 3' Banners that I'm printing for a display in a lobby. It's on that synthetic non-curl material. I'm not a good profiler so I'm just using a canned one. I'm not sure if it's the profile, or what I'm not tweaking, but it's printing brown instead of red. It is a dark red, but I'm just not happy w/ how it's coming out.

Do I need to tweak something in Onyx I'm not seeing? It was sent to me as a .pdf, and that looked bad, so I took it into Photoshop, and saved it as a .tiff. Then I used the embedded tiff profiles as my profile type, and it was still brown. Here is the design.

Attachments

• InformationCenter.jpg
    InformationCenter.jpg
    25.5 KB · Views: 546

Marie

Is color correction ON or OFF? When I print Photoshop files, I use ON - the colors are much brighter. With it OFF, the colors are muddy - like the background on your banner.

TheSnowman

Because it's already created. And that's the color they want. What would re-creating it exactly the same do? It's still going to print the wrong color, it's in my profile somewhere. I think turning the color correction on helped for once.

iSign

I'd probably try to isolate how much of the problem might be the profile by printing a small sample on a more familiar media. If I could get the right color with a familiar profile/media combination, at least I could hold off on tweaking the file for starters... but if I couldn't, then I might try tweaking more saturation, brightness & adjusting hue a bit.

Rooster

Good luck with dark saturated reds. You'll be chasing that one for days.