• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

New to the idea of Latex...!

MikeyG

Hi there!
I'm new to my company (and fairly new to large format printing), but have been asked to spec equipment for a vinyl printer/cutter combined or individual equipment.

I've been looking at the various Roland/Mimaki solvent options available (mainly because we have an ancient Mimaki JV3 solvent beast here at the moment!), but have only just discovered the concept of latex printers!

I'm thinking either the 260 or the L26500 might just do the job for us here!

We would need it to print vinyl, ready for lamination and contour cutting on a dedicated cutter (yet to be decided on, too!).
Additionally, we print wallpaper, window-cling, canvas and who knows in future! (We are an exhibition design and manufacturing company.)

I would love to hear any opinions on the Solvent/Latex alternative! Maybe from anyone who has used both?
In fact, I'm so new to this idea, I'm happy to read anything anyone wants to write about these machines!

A thousand thanks in advance!

pnklout

latex rocks -imho- but be careful there is a little catch. it consumes a lot of electricity, fairly more than any ecosolvent machine. at least that was the deal with the 25500's I ve worked with the past years.. ;)

ProColorGraphics