• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Newbie Needing Help With Greys

EMS

Hello Signs101 Community,

First post here!

- Running a Mimaki CJV150 with SS21 Inks using Rasterlink6 Ver 5.16.
- Printing on Avery MPI1105SC and MPI12903

I’m new to digital printing and curious to see how everyone achieves nice greys in their printing. I’m finding that my greys are either green or a muddy colour.

- Is it something as simple as a profile in Rasterlink? The profile we are using is CJV1504CSS21_Ave-3000_v35_F112692.icc

- Could it be more complex like colour management and understanding of colour theory? I have just started playing around with the ‘Colour Adjust’ dropping the Cyan, Magenta and Yellow values but still couldn’t come up with satisfactory result. (Picture attached is typical print settings)

- Or is it the process of printing from illustrator to Rasterlink? When in illustrator and ready to print, I usually just click on print, select the printer (CJV150) which drops it into Rasterlink. I did find that when I hit print in Illustrator and clicked on the ‘Colour Management’ tab, the document profile is U.S Web Coated (SWOP) v2 and the ‘Printer Profile’ has sRGB IEC61966-2.1 automatically selected, I did try changing it to U.S Webcoated but I don’t think it made much of a difference.

I’d appreciate any comments, feedback or just a nudge in the right direction either links, YouTubers, tutorials, etc as I would love to learn more about this software and machine.

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_7682.JPG
    IMG_7682.JPG
    1.4 MB · Views: 518

Lady Who

Hello there!
Try selecting the Gray Balance option in the Color Matching section, on the Quality menu for all jobs containing greys. That always worked for me when the greys were brownish.

grey.jpg