• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question Pad/Stud Mounts on Acrylic Letters

squaregoco

So I'm new to using pad mounts on acrylic letters. Not sure how man pads are needed. Here is a 30" tall letter out of 1/2" acrylic to be mounted outside on brick. Would six 1" pads be enough and should only the top two have pins into the brick to allow expansion? could you pin mount 1/4" thick acrylic this size or would it be too wavy? Any advice would be apprecated
Pad Mount.JPG

Moze

Precision Sign Services
So I'm new to using pad mounts on acrylic letters. Not sure how man pads are needed. Here is a 30" tall letter out of 1/2" acrylic to be mounted outside on brick. Would six 1" pads be enough and should only the top two have pins into the brick to allow expansion? could you pin mount 1/4" thick acrylic this size or would it be too wavy? Any advice would be apprecated
View attachment 155008

You have 7 drawn, not 6, but I would go with 7, like you have shown.

I don't understand your question about the top ones having pins into the brick & expansion......all 7 should have studs.

1/4" acrylic would be a bit thin for letters this size.

All of that being said, any particular reason you're not just drilling and tapping them?

squaregoco

You have 7 drawn, not 6, but I would go with 7, like you have shown.

I don't understand your question about the top ones having pins into the brick & expansion......all 7 should have studs.

1/4" acrylic would be a bit thin for letters this size.

All of that being said, any particular reason you're not just drilling and tapping them?
Ahh, yes 7, was a long day. Just thought gluing pads to them would be faster. Hadn’t considered drill and tap, worried I’d blow through the face with the tap.

Moze

Precision Sign Services