• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Painted lettering rubbing off vehicle. What's gone wrong?

The Jackdaw

I am a beginner and my first lettering on a vehicle has gone badly. One-Shot paint and very little thinning with white spirit. No hardener used.
Painted outdoors (9C/48F during the day) with very high humidity at night.
After 4 days, the paint had a nice gloss (so I believed I gave it enough time to dry before nightfall) and appeared hardened however it can be rubbed off easily with a dry cloth.
Is this due purely to the temperature/humidity of application or is there something else at play here?
I want to make sure I learn what I have done wrong before trying to find a heated workshop and start from scratch.
The van is a metallic silver and I made sure the area was clean and dry before starting.
Thanks

kcollinsdesign

Old member
One Shot does not stick to modern vehicle finishes. Today most hand lettering is done with urethane paints applied on the base coat before the final clear is sprayed. Additives and adhesion promotors can be added to extend working time (urethane striping paints dry almost immediately; you must be fast) and help with adhesion, but you must experiment to come up with something that works for you and the specific finish you are painting on. Not for the feint of heart!

You will also find the paint actually flying off your brush onto the surface (static) before you even put the brush down. Sort of like airbrushing with a striping brush and it can be difficult to control.

https://tcpglobal.com/collections/pinstriping-paint-hok

The Jackdaw