• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Powder actuated nail gun...

I did a couple of searches and didn't turn anything up here... I was wondering if anyone uses a "Powder Actuated Nail Gun" to install banners on buildings -- in brick or concrete.

The reason I ask is that I am still pretty new to the shop I work at currently, when I arrived here I was shown the standard way that this company has been installing banners -- drill with a masonry bit in a cordless Makita hammer drill, then use Tapcon screws. This is so time consuming...

One day, while going through our shop's tool area I happened upon a Remington nail gun. I have used these in the past while working construction to attach wood to concrete... so I thought, "What the hell, let's give it a try."

It worked great. Banner up in a quarter of the time...

Is there any reason to NOT use this? Why don't more people? In my area I have seen banners put up with nylon sleeve anchors and screws, with rivets (also in some sort of sleeve), and others -- all which require predrilling and some that aren't very friendly to de-install when it is time to take the banner down...

d fleming

my opinion only

1 More dangerous than drilling
2 more potential for damage to building
There's a big difference in nailing a floor plate to a slab and hanging in the air with a 22 cal. nail gun shooting to a vertical surface.

Billct2

2 reasons we don't, potential damage and difficulty for removal/replacement.
I have used them a few times when the install warranted it.

Mosh

Hilti Gun, used to shoot nails in concrete. Wait until you have to remove it....
Also be sure to use the correct nail/load. Using a slab load on a concrete block will result in the nail blowing through the block.