• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Problem with the artwork in Illustrator - Roland VG2-640

Mita

Hi everyone.
I am new in this business and still figuring out as I go but I have hit a wall and perhaps some of you might help. I made this in Illustrator and everything is OK. The cut is the top player and the artwork a second layer. When I put it in VersaWorks I get - the second picture -as part of the circle is cut. Second problem I have and I don't think it should be like this since Roland is a powerful beast as far as I know, I don't like how it printed the gradient - you can see the lines. On the third picture you can see the result.
I tried putting some of the layers up or down when a friend suggested that maybe the text is cutting a part of the circle but that didnt help, that was not the issue. It's probably something else I cant think of.

Attachments

• Illustrator - picture 1.png
    Illustrator - picture 1.png
    144.2 KB · Views: 304
  • VersaWorks - Picture 2.png
    VersaWorks - Picture 2.png
    33.1 KB · Views: 140
  • picture 3.jpg
    picture 3.jpg
    948.6 KB · Views: 148

Adam Vreeke

Knows just enough to get in a lot of trouble..
Could be something weird going on in the file, especially with a gradient.

In AI go to File > Export > Export As > TIFF. I keep settings as CMYK, 300 DPI, and Art Optimized. Doing this will 'Flatten' your artwork, meaning what you see on screen is what you will get. Keep in mind this rasterizes the vector artwork, so you can't do high scaling with it. If you ever get any weird boxes, art cut off, or just anything weird in general this is what I will typically do.

Mita

Could be something weird going on in the file, especially with a gradient.