• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Self Taught Newbie -- Color, Material or Media Setting Problem

samhayne

So I typically only do stickers on adhesive backed vinyl. I have a sticker booth that I take to car shows and at the last event there was a guy selling banners. It looked like a great addition to my product line. I bought one of his banners. It's printed on thick shiny vinyl which I believe is heat welded and has grommets. I'm trying to do something similar.

I have a Roland Versacam VS-300i. I usually only print on Adhesive backed vinyl both matte and gloss finish. My supplier sold me a banner vinyl made by Argent. It's AB-135 Frontlit banner. I chose matte finish which I think was a mistake. Now I know the matte is part of this issue but as can be seen in the photo, it looks VERY washed out. Is this just how matte vinyl is supposed to look? I think this media is a private label made for my supplier (Mac Papers). I couldn't find a media profile for it so I'm using "Roland DGA LBV2 Light weight banner vinyl". Is there something I'm missing? I know so little about sign making so if anyone can point my in the direction of some documentation, I'd be grateful. My heat settings are 40 heater and 45 dryer. Genuine Eco Sol ink. The dark banner is the one I bought and the pale one is my small sample test job. M printy head is in the low position.
IMG_20221222_194344505_HDR.jpg

Last edited:

Boudica

Back to "educational purposes"
So I typically only do stickers on adhesive backed vinyl. I have a sticker booth that I take to car shows and at the last event there was a guy selling banners.
and my head is in the low position.
Yup.

SignMeUpGraphics

Super Active Member