• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

UV Printing on Mylar - Adhesion Promoters or Corona Treatment

feckmo

Hi All,

I'm new to the world of flatbed UV printing and I'm having a bit of trouble getting inks to stick properly to mylar films. Or, generically, polyethylene terephthalate (PET/BoPET). We have a new Mimaki JFX200-2513 which prints beautifully, but the inks don't stick well on these films.

I understand that this is an issue with surface energy and that UV inks have a hard time with this type of material so some sort of surface prep is usually necessary. We've tried a number of adhesion promoters with mixed success, but nothing I would call a solution yet. So, I'm wondering if (a) anyone has suggestions for effective PET adhesion promoters and (b) anyone has experience with flatbed or handheld corona treatment machines that I could run products through before printing? I would need something that could handle material up to 30" wide and 1" thick.

Any suggestions would be very much appreciated!

Thanks,

--Jim.

Robert Gruner

Jim,

There is a poster at this site who has previously posted that he has sold many Mimaki flatbed printers.

PDS Equipment
Steve Weist
615-812-3001

This gentleman might have an answer for you?

Let us know if you find a solution.

Nate1n22

Don't know much about the Mimaki's but there might be a different ink set with better adhesion on that material.

feckmo