• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Question Which material would be best for a work trailer set of decals?

newprinterguy

Hello everyone, I'm very new to the industry and I recently got a work order from a local blue collar guy starting his own foam injection business for concrete leveling. Its my job to produce and install his decals and I've never done it before.
I'm on my own for this project so step one is deciding on what material would be best. I have some others at my disposal but these are my top 3 choices for the job.

Orafol 5600 Reflective Vinyl, Avery Dennison MPI 2050 "Opague vinyl", and Substance Ultracurve 1000, 10 mil vinyl.

I plan to design on Illustrator, export with registry marks to versaworks, print from the Roland XR-640, laminate with the Royal Sovereign laminator, then move to the Graphtec cutter for final processing, then weeding.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    310.1 KB · Views: 189
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    273.7 KB · Views: 54
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    133.2 KB · Views: 68

White Haus

Not a Newbie
I would take MPI 2050 and Substance off your list, for this application. Reading and familiarizing yourself with materials' intended application will be a good starting point. All manufacturers will have product bulletins and sell sheets for every material they make/sell.

That leaves the 5600 reflective or having to buy another material, not to mention a matching laminate.

Does the customer want reflective? Do they have a budget and/or have you discussed price?