• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

48" Tall Letter Installation on glass

Maryah

Hi, I am new to signage and still learning. My client wants to install three 48" Letters on a glass window which will be facing outside. My manufacturer does not guarantee that 3M VBH double sided tape will hold 1/2" thick letter whether i go with formed plastic or flat-cut metal letters. I wanted to see if there is anyone who can suggest a solution to it. Thanks.

Moze

Precision Sign Services
With enough tape, it will hold. Do your homework, talk to 3M, see what the shear weight capabilities are for the tape and how much you'll need for the specific weight of each letter.

It's going to absolutely suck for whoever has to remove it someday, but yes, tape will hold it.

2B

there is a MASSIVE weight difference between
* 1/2" flat cut metal
* 1/2" formed plastic

Who is taking responsibility in case something happens to the glass?

With enough adhesive, it will stick, as mentioned the removal is going to be a nightmare

Justine Bouman

If it’s being installed on a second surface I would not use tape - you’d see it through the window.
I would also be VERY concerned about expansion with heat. It might be worth looking into some optically clear plexi that you could apply to the front of of sandwich against the glass or alternatively depending on the type of ceiling you could mount/ hang in the window.

SignEST

Use tape to hold it until the clear silicone dries. Put a piece of white vinyl matching the general shape on the inside to hide the tape + silicone. Don't make them out of metal. Make sure your inside piece of vinyl is mirrored.

Maryah