• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

AI creating contour cut

Engstrom Graphics

sniperhockeydesigns
Hey guys, I am new to printing as I have always worked with just cut material, or outsourced my printing jobs.

I am having trouble with I am sure a very simple task and have tried to research but I am not yielding the results.

I am trying to create a cut outline on this image:

numberscreenshot.png

I have a Roland VersaCamm and use VersaWorks - I am wanting to cut on the exact outline of the black background of the number. I read something about creating a different layer in AI - but couldn't seem to get it to work. Do you print through AI directly to the printer and not use VersaWorks when completed?

Sorry if this is basic - just need some step by step basics for creating a cut line as I will be doing a lot of these and can use the same process.

Thanks in advance!

Lee

Last edited by a moderator:

Jim Doggett

Hey guys, I am new to printing as I have always worked with just cut material, or outsourced my printing jobs.

I am having trouble with I am sure a very simple task and have tried to research but I am not yielding the results.

I am trying to create a cut outline on this image:

View attachment 76907

I have a Roland VersaCamm and use VersaWorks - I am wanting to cut on the exact outline of the black background of the number. I read something about creating a different layer in AI - but couldn't seem to get it to work. Do you print through AI directly to the printer and not use VersaWorks when completed?

Sorry if this is basic - just need some step by step basics for creating a cut line as I will be doing a lot of these and can use the same process.

Thanks in advance!

Lee

Simple, sort of, in any of these 4 ways: