• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Back Lit Sign Question?

ZsVinylInc

So I am new to doing back lit signs. I recently made an addition for a customer with Orcal 8500 Translucent. This client now is opening a second location and wants me to do new pan faces for his new location. He wants to have yellow lettering with black outline. Normally if I was doing regular cut vinyl I would just stack that layers. My question is if I stack the layers will you still be able to get good translucent on them? Or is there another and better way to approach this? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Big Z

cgsigns_jamie

You need to make sure that you cut the yellow area's out of the black...

If it was me I would add a about an 1/8" outline to the yellow so when you overlay the black you don't have to be 100% on your alignment.

Like this...

Attachments

• Screen shot 2009-10-29 at 11.20.25 PM.png
    Screen shot 2009-10-29 at 11.20.25 PM.png
    17.4 KB · Views: 98

ZsVinylInc

I think I get what you are saying...So then the yellow would over lap the black about 1/8"....I appreciate you advice and help. So what would be the pros and cons if you laid the yellow first and then laid and overlapped the black? I would assume same result just slightly different look.

cgsigns_jamie

Personally I'd lay the yellow first then the black outline. This would allow me to do like a "color trap"

I usually add a 1/16" or 1/8" to my bottom layer (yellow in this case) then overlay the outline. That way if I'm slightly off in my alignment I won't have any white showing.

I've attached a wireframe of that "A" (I changed the yellow to red so it'd be easier to see)