• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Buying a Dimensional Sign Business

letterworks

Premium Subscriber
Hello everyone. I'm reposting this in the "open to all section as I now know its where more of the conversations are. You can look up my original post, my first post here.

As per the original post, my background is acrylic fabrication for over 20 years most of those with CNC cutting as part of our offered services.

I have the opportunity to buy a local to-the-trade dimensional letter / sign company. The name has a long history, back to the 80's and the local reputation particularly for it's painting is good. However, it sold in 2019 to a 3-way partnership that is in a bad state (now worse) and the sales volume is about 1/2 what it was in 2019 and earlier (now 1/4). Since I work with some sign shops myself, there is customer overlap and I can ask them about this business too. I think, with new life, the reputation is probably salvageable. Price (if the ownership all agrees) will be "assets at auction" level or a little higher. It will come with a location that is needed for the paint booth but isn't ideal but I think is still sort of cheap as the market has been going sky high here recently.

I am coming from a bit the opposite side of the business. I currently do the basic letter cutting for the guys that are slapping latex on Styrofoam and putting the letters 20-30 ft up, or sintra letters that are left unpainted or that get sent to others for painting to a letter finish that this business normal produces. Occasionally I do push thru backlit letter jobs too with alupanel backs. I have been the cheap and quick alternative to the company for sale for a mostly very local sign client base.