• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Circle sticker issues

StickerBros

Some what of a rookie question here since I am not a designer. I own our print shop but I do not do our graphic design. We are trying to do circle decals and the border is always off like shown in the picture. Our designer says it’s near impossible to center art work on a circle with small border. Is this true or is there more he can be doing?

We are using Roland VG2 and Roland Camm 1 GR2

Attachments

• CBECA906-5465-4E20-954B-0FF913F7C4AB.jpeg
    CBECA906-5465-4E20-954B-0FF913F7C4AB.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 844

Solventinkjet

DIY Printer Fixing Guide
It almost looks like your cutter is having issues. There are some jagged edges that should be smooth. Maybe your blade holder and/or cut strip is worn out?

Most design programs have a centering tool that does it mathematically. On the design end it should be perfect. It would have to be the cutter in my opinion.

Stacey K

I like making signs
"Our designer says it’s near impossible to center art work on a circle with small border" - this leads me to believe he is creating the artwork then creating a separate black circle and trying to center it. He should be creating the circle art then add an outline so it's always perfect.

OR

Check that your blade is tight. When I bought my cutter I never checked to see if it was tight and it worked fine with square type things but circles looked just like yours - I wasted a lot of time trying to figure it out LOL

CVS

Are you printing, laminating, and then cutting? I sometimes find that this is enough to distort the vinyl slightly, same as weather conditions. Where I am the weather can change 40 degrees in 24 hours and vinyl doesn't like that at all!

Mr. Signboy