• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Digital vs thermal transfer printer

Outdoorsignguy

Hi all,

I'm a new user to the website and hoping to find some input on a printer. Personally, I have little knowledge of printing technologies and am learning along the way.

My company does flexographic and screen printing of labels. We also have an old Gerber vinyl cutter for aluminum signage and are looking to invest in a printer/cutter to expand on this offering. One vendor recommended the Mimaki CJV30-130, but I was also told about thermal transfer printing.

Can someone shed some light on the advantages/disadvantages of either technology? Ideally, we would like to print on vinyl and stick it on to aluminum. For the interim we are looking at short run quantities. Thanks!

CS-SignSupply-TT

Solvent, Latex vs. Thermal, that IS the question!

Hi all,

I'm a new user to the website and hoping to find some input on a printer. Personally, I have little knowledge of printing technologies and am learning along the way.

My company does flexographic and screen printing of labels. We also have an old Gerber vinyl cutter for aluminum signage and are looking to invest in a printer/cutter to expand on this offering. One vendor recommended the Mimaki CJV30-130, but I was also told about thermal transfer printing.

Can someone shed some light on the advantages/disadvantages of either technology? Ideally, we would like to print on vinyl and stick it on to aluminum. For the interim we are looking at short run quantities. Thanks!

WELCOME from HOT!lanta

Thermal resin printing technology, ie. Gerber Edge or Summa Durachrome The color is actually melted into the adhesive back vinyl