• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Tonya.Nehren

Hello!
Very excited to have found this forum. I manage a small in-house print shop for a large school system. We don't profit from our services, our goal is to breakeven year over year. I'm new to the print world, I stumbled across this opportunity and very happy I did. Over the past year or so, I've been doing a lot of outsourcing of signs, yard signs, magnetic etc..enough that I'm starting to look into getting a flatbed printer. I've talked to a couple sales reps and have spent hours researching, but I'm not getting the information that I need and I'm sure someone on here has already gathered the information I'm looking for.

So far I've been looking at the Xante X33 and Mimaki UJF-6042

1) Cost comparisons of different flatbed options.
2) Break down of average operating cost per sq ft
3) Break down of average maintenance cost (monthly or yearly)

Ultimately, I just want to see if it would be worth the investment to bring this work in-house.

I appreciate any feedback!
Tonya

Pauly

Printrade.com.au
Welcome!

Those little flatbed printers are for promotional items etc. I wouldn't be printing any yard signs or signs in general on those.

As cost is a factor. Keeping UV printers maintained is a must. More printing you do, the better. You want them running daily or minimum once a week,
It would be honestly more cost effective outsourcing to someone like firesprint (members here)

If you want to do it yourself, better off buying a wide format machine and a laminating table and just stick self adhesive vinyl stickers onto the boards.

Tonya.Nehren

Welcome!

Those little flatbed printers are for promotional items etc. I wouldn't be printing any yard signs or signs in general on those.