• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Hi, Need help with finishing exterior sign after V carving

Cabin Fever Co.

Hello, I'm new to signs 101 and exterior sign making. I have a client who wants a v carved sign for outside. It is under an awning but generally exposed to cold/hot weather. it is attached to a gazebo like structure that is stained dark. .
They want the sign stained dark grey ( on yellow pine ) with white lettering . I was going to stain it with Benjamin moore arborcoat exterior stain , then oramask on top. then spray the letters with water based exterior poly ( general finishes water based 450 ) then spray the letters white with an exterior white latex paint. No sealer over that.
I have never made an exterior sign so I don’t know what to expect. These materials were recommend to me from the paint store but I wanted to confirm with a sign maker if possible. I really hope it doesn’t peel right away ! Thanks in advance !
Tom
test of john murphy .jpg
murphy sign mock up small.jpg

Gino

Premium Subscriber
I really think the yellow pine is a bad idea all around. Also, with wood..... sealer if you're using a good stain, goes on afterwards.

Billct2

Agree on the yellow pine, I would use cedar at a minimum, or mahogany.
If they insist on a transparent grey stain I would stain the whole thing then apply a good sealer
Then I'd use white one shot enamel on the letters. .

Jean Shimp