• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

I am new to laminating, I SUUUUCK AT IT , I mean really suck at it. Need a video, tutorial or some veteran hacks to get this right....

depps74

I've been printing for about 5 years, most jobs do not require laminating (temp wall coverings in secure galleries) so I have little experience on my Royal Sovereign cold laminator 54" I have worked out how to feed it without bubbles and wrinkles, how to get a good lam, but the skewing is beyond me. I cut a smile in the lead sheet, feed it through and it looks good, but then it skews so there is almost always a 1- 1 &1/2' off, sometimes requiring a reprint, which drives me insane. My questions are:

-besides tamping my rolls down before loading is there a way to ensure the material on the roll is consistent?
-IS there some apparatus besides the guard rails to ensure your getting it on the roll as straight as can be attained?
-am I doing the load right? I do these steps: 1. Tamp roll, 2. load roll, 3. line up to guard rails, 4. cut smile, 5. feed smile onto take-up reel.... Am I missing a step here?
-Besides printing smaller than the lam sheet width, is there a way to keep the skew down to 1/4"? or is 1-1&1/2" as good as it gets and just tile my jobs 2-4"less wide so the lam covers all the print area?.
-How do you tighten the things(clamps?) on the rod so the printed material (and all the other rolls for that matter) stay put, but come off when its time to take them off the rod?

I am new to this and I am lost, frustrated and in need of help, so just asking for helpful advice please.

Thanks in advance friends,

Dave

netsol

don't get mad. you made me laugh, remembering about 5 years ago, our first experience laminating

frustrating as hell