• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

I need to Uninstall a lighted sign.. If it difficult?

Jo Hill

I got a phone call this morning from a guy needing a couple of lighted Subway signs removed from a Walmart about 30 minutes away.

I have zero experience installing/uninstalling lighted signs - that being said, how difficult would it be to uninstall the attached?

I image I'd have to worry about electric wires or getting shocked?

Any tips or tricks would be appreciated..

Photos are attached. IMG_7314.jpg IMG_7313.jpg

Thank you!

Jo Hill

Sub it out to a qualified company and go watch and learn. Are you a licensed electrical sign contractor? It may not even be legal for you to touch it.

no sir I am not.

it would be exciting to watch something like this get installed/ uninstalled, I might just go with your suggestion sir !

Gino

Premium Subscriber
What he said. If all you're worried about is getting shocked, I'm afraid you're quite outta your league on this one. When you're doing signs at malls and whatnot, everything hasta be UL stamped and if you don't know the first thing about electric, you could cause a fire and lives could be lost.

MikePro

youtube "Lock Out Tag Out" and you'll be fine.
its all about making sure that you've disconnected power from the source, and lock out any possibility of someone turning on the power while you have your hands on the wires. disconnect wires, cover each wire with wire nut & secure with electrical tape, remove sign, and you're set.

otherwise, +1 to suggestions above on subbing the electrical disconnect to an electrician.... since you're paying them, I'm sure they wouldn't mind you observing the process.

signage