• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

ISSUE WITH ROYAL SOVEREIGN RSC-1401

mountainsigns

Hi there, I am relatively new to the signmaking world, and inherited a Royal Sovereign RSC-1401 laminator as part of our workflow. We use it most often for mounting vinyl to coroplast quickly, sometimes for lamination but usually not. The machine itself is 10+ years old. In the past weeks after a bout of making 50+ signs, the rollers stopped rolling at their normal speed, and required the speed to be at 6+ higher for it to roll properly. This issue got worse. The place we purchased it from suggested we replace the motor. In addition to that issue, the rollers appear uneven, and it looks like the bottom roller is not seated correctly somehow. When we tried to use it last, only one side of the rollers had any pressure and there was a gap on the other side. I tried adjusting the screws on both sides (atop what look like springs), to no avail. I did also install a new motor, and now nothing is spinning at all, though it sounds as if the motor and rollers are trying to work. On top of all of that, the side crank (mechanism to make roller go up or down), does not appear to be working fluidly. Can anyone provide any help?

rjssigns

I