• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Laminator for acrylic?

Smkmit22

Hi All,

I have never worked before with a hot/cold laminator. Only liquid.

My question is, what would be the best option for creating acrylic prints in regard to the lamination process? I'm not printing directly to acrylic.

I wanted to use double sided Laminate Film. Which is a cold press laminate. Is this the best technique?

Also noticed that "bizon" offers hybride laminators, support for cold and hot. Any downsides to using such machine?

All info is welcome :)

Thanks much

netsol

I am not sure i am following the "hybrid" thing
Any heat assist laminator can support cold lamination by turning the heat down

Generally, the purpose of heat assist is to eliminate silvering. Otherwise you need to wait a day or so for the
Laminate to clear, if you have this issue

Smkmit22

Thanks for your response.

Regarding the hybride, i saw this :"Professional hot and cold laminating machine of the brand Bizon and type 1600 TH." Assuming it can laminate both cold and hot. But if i understand you correctly, any hot laminator can laminate cold as well?

MikePro

HUGE fan of using my CWT table for laminating vinyl/prints/films onto up to ~6" acrylic.
I'll even setup rails of scrap material and apply a full sheet to a table full of nested cut letter shapes for channel letters n' such.

To each their own, but I feel it is much easier to have the substrate in a fixed position, with a laminator wheel/gantry that travels across....than your typical laminator that you would feed a substrate-thru.

Smkmit22

Hi all,

Thanks, I checked, the CWT table looks neat, but it's a bit expensive. I roamed the the forums a bit, and encountered the problem 'silvering' just, like netsol already stated.