• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

motorhome graphics..any tips?

Velocity955

I have a customer that wants me to remove and replace the graphics on his 35' fiberglass motorhome. The manufacturer does not offer replacement graphics, so I plan on cutting new graphics the same shape as the old (just slightly larger to cover ghost lines). I have never done a job this large before, so was looking for any advise on the best solvent and technique to remove this quantity of vinyl, what material would work best and any tips on installing. I was thinking orocal 651 or 751. any thoughts? thanks to all!!

Mike Paul

Super Active Member
Questionable hours of vinyl removal, paint pull up, Adhesive removal nightmare, ghosting, chalked paint that won't prep properly, New graphic that may not match even if you make them larger. Grumpy old fart looking for a bubble? ...

SolitaryT

Seems scary to me, too, buddy, unless by "motorhome" you mean "VW bus" owned by some hippie kid who wants a dead-head or a pot leaf or something...

Velocity955

C'mon guys wheres your confidence? Bare your sword and charge into the face of battle!!! o.k, maybe i've been watching to many Mel Gibson movies. how about suggestions on the best vinyl removing solvent you have used?

Rydaddy

Only possible way to do this is to have him agree to being charged by the hour for removal. Also a sign-off on the potential problems stated above. So essentially your customer would have to decide how badly they want their graphics changed. Maybe he really wants it done. Treat it as two different transactions all-together.

For what you will end up charging him for this, use premium vinyl.

Jillbeans

Do try to avoid this job. It's a thankless task.