• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need a crash course on electrical signage

imajenn

I'm a designer new to the electrical signage world. I’m hoping the veterans here can give me a crash course and answer some questions below:

D/F Front-lit Blade signs:
1654556178800.png

1. What’s the minimum depth for a d/f front-lit blade sign?
2. How do I know which sq tube size to use for the mounting brackets? And how do I determine the size of the mounting plates? 1 versus 2 plates - or is this all for looks?
3. What gauge of aluminum is typically use for routed-out face w/ push-thru?

Sign Cabinet:
1654556578223.png

1. How do I know what size retainers to use? Is there a general rule on height/length of the polycarb face and retainer size requirements?
2. What's the minimum depth of a typical sign cabinet? Does it need to get thicker as the size increases?

That's it for now....thank you!

Texas_Signmaker

Very Active Signmaker
Your blade sign needs to be engineered to get those mounting answers. for the faces.. 063 or 080, I can't remember off the top of my head.

4" is about the minimum on bigger wall cabinets. You don't need thicker depth as cabinet grows, just enough to keep the LEDs from looking hot. I've done 3" on channel letters before and they didn't have hot spots. Retainers are 1.5"-2" for polycarb. Once you get over 5x10 or 4x12 you need to start thinking about a flexface.

Those are direct answers to your questions... but you really should have a fabricator who is familiar with making these tell you what to do.

imajenn

Your blade sign needs to be engineered to get those mounting answers. for the faces.. 063 or 080, I can't remember off the top of my head.