• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need advice on trailer wrap technique

50westgraphics

First off, I need to clarify a few things. I didn't design the wrap and this is my first time doing a wrap. I typically just do cut vinyl, but I'm applying this for a friend as a favor.

Please don't flame me, I'm a complete novice on wraps. I know you guys know your stuff, that's why I'm here.

I'm having a terrible time on this trailer getting the top/top corners/sides to come out good. The corners are the worst part for me; I made relief cuts on them on this first side to make it cover and it looks like butt. I'm also getting severe wrinkles at the very top and some on the sides. The material is 3M Controltac (that's all I know; not sure what model it is). It has backing paper (obviously) and premask tape on top of it.

I've been applying the bottom section first and then applying the top using a bottom hinge. The only reason I'm using a bottom hinge is to make sure the 2 layers line up. Should I be peeling the app tape and backing paper off completely when I get to the top/corners/sides? I don't know what to do. :( It's so massive I'm afraid to peel it completely from the get-go.

Any advice on the wrinkles and corners would be UBER appreciated. I'll try to post pics:

j5g1.jpg eylv.jpg

HulkSmash

Is there a reason why your film is masked? Does it not have lamination?
I would remove all the mask if it is laminated, and if it isn't throw it in the trash, and reprint and use laminate.. no mask

50westgraphics