• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Suggestions on keeping file size managable?

Noni120

Hi. I am fairly new to the sign trade and wondered if any of more experienced members could offer suggestions on how to keep my file sizes down. I find when designing for a 54" printer, my files become so large they are bogging down my system (less than 6 month old computer).
How large a file can be printed? Are there ways to have lower resolution while working on a file and then up the resolution to the original 200-300 dpi when ready to print?
Also could I create a file as a percentage of the size (say 25%) and then have FlexiSign multiply the file when going to print it?
I'm using Illustrator to design and Flexisign to print.
I know these may be silly question-I'm just learning and the more I learn it seems the less I know! lol
Thanks in advance all!

ForgeInc

Step 1. Search.

Step 2. Introduce yourself and tell a story.

Step 3. If you make all your rastered imagery 100 DPI at full size, that is plenty. Many will tell you less is even better. What type of files are you sending to the rip? PDF will most likely be your best bet for manageable file size.

Give us more details, and we can give you more advice.

artbot

your heads are 720x1440. that means you need to save your files at 1440 dpi. average files size will be 100gigs.

actually get a small piece of an image. something sharper than would be for your average project. also get a sample of something not sharp, like a photograph of the sky, or a section of a person's cheek. about 4"x4" each.