• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Need Help Summa Dc5sx Vs Hp 110 And Laminator

Nanci

New here....I'm expanding to print this spring, tired of outsourcing and cutting what should be printed. I am considering buying a new Summa 30" plotter for a workhorse, but for the printing, I seem to be drawn to the Summa DC5sx, because I can skip the laminator, and I like the idea of being able to print on metallic vinyl, I use that so much in my small business, which is mostly vehicle and boat graphics. I've been doing this for over 30 years, I suppose it's about time to branch out.
So....I've had all of 2 days to cram info into my brain about printers, since my old plotter kicked the bucket on Friday. I'm leaning towards just replacing the plotter now, and buying a printer later, just to keep going in this busy season. It seems foolish to have two machines that will both cut, but when you factor in the laminator, why not? Everyone seems to be pushing for the HP latex printers, with a laminator, and a separate plotter. They are also pushing 54", and I'm not sure I have the need for that.

Does anybody here have the Summa DC5sx? Do you like it?

Joe House

Sign Equipment Technician
Nanci, if you are doing mostly vehicle and boat graphics, you'll want to laminate no matter what printer you use.
Get a plotter first and go 54 inch. You can always get smaller vinyl in it. It doesn't work the other way around. Make sure it can read crop marks. Summary or graphtec both make good ones. Roland's new GR plotter is worth checking out as well.
Then do more research. Compare cost for output. Compare print quality of files that you provide. Ask for the time to print your files.
Finally, you can get metallic vinyl that is ink jet printable, so don't worry about that.