• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

What are using using to RIP to your Mimaki JV3 SPII (Firewire) isses

speedmedia

Ok,
So I have been battling this Mimaki JV3 and the Firewire for 4 years with error 10's to no avail. I have tried different computers, RIP Software, Firewire cards, Firewire cables everything you could imagine. Nobody knows or is able to fix it from my techs to Mimaki. It has gotten out of hand. I am looking for clues on how to get around this problem.

What computer are you using to RIP to your Mimaki JV3 SPI II printer? I am at a loss at this point. I wish they would have used a USB system instead, the Firewire seems very buggy.

Anyone have anything I can try or any suggestions to help me out. I am at my wits end!

I wish there was a way to convert this thing over to USB like they did with the JV33. We have one of those printers and it runs flawlessly.

Thanks,
Kurt

Letterbox Mike

Contact Mimaki and ask them if they have an older version of their firewire driver. I agree, the firewire is finicky for some reason. We had some issues getting it set up, you have to find the right combination of firewire card, Mimaki firewire driver and driver for the actual board. I was about to give up but I tracked someone down at Mimaki's tech support who recommended I try an older version of the Mimaki firewire driver and it's worked fine for four years now, we're on our third RIP computer in that time and I just keep transferring the card over and reinstalling the driver. I can see if I can figure out what version of the driver it is when I get to the shop on Monday for you. I don't know if I can email a copy of it to you or not but I'll try...