• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Yard Signs- Print my own or outsource?

TimPiazza

First, by way of a quick intro so I don't sound like a complete newbie... I am not currently in the sign-making business, but I have a 30 year career in printing and digital prepress, starting out as a color scanner operator in the early 1980's.

Currently, I am self-employed as an entrepreneur. I developed a text message marketing solution for real estate agents, and while I initially planned on selling the solution (a wordpress plug-in that creates SMS Text auto-responders for any post), I am seeing a huge need for offering additional services, including those for independent, part-time real estate agents who do not have a website.

Here's where printing is involved. The way you get home-buyers to use text messaging is by placing a yard sign on the property. Every single sign is unique because either the keyword or the number texted to is different for each property.

I want to minimize costs. I could end up with a lot of minimum orders (5 signs, 2-sided), but I also expect orders of 25, 50, 100 and maybe 200 signs.

I am looking at 3 possibilities. Buy a digital printer, print-on-demand. Partner with a printer, standardize order process (most logical choice). Print generic signs and add custom keywords using permanent outdoor decals (bumper stickers).

Assuming the only thing I will print is 18" x 24" white Coroplast, is there a printer that would be a wise investment, where I am able to produce signs quickly for under $3 per. Is the idea of printing generic signs and then adding the unique numbers with carefully positioned decals a reasonable approach?