• I want to thank all the members that have upgraded your accounts. I truly appreciate your support of the site monetarily. Supporting the site keeps this site up and running as a lot of work daily goes on behind the scenes. Click to Support Signs101 ...

Adobe Illustrator vs. Corel Draw

fondu

OK, so the Versacamm VP540 is ordered and on the way. I have been running and older version of signlab that has worked great for cutting vinyl but I need to upgrade to a better design program and would appreciate all thoughts. What are the pros & cons of AI or CD. Which will run better with the Roland? Which software will have fewer issues, and be easier to pick up coming from the Signlab environment?

P

ProWraps™

ruh roh. adobe vs. corel. this ought to get good. as a successful sign business owner i have ONE word for you:
BOTH!

you better know both, and have both.

iSign

both can work... I only have one though... been using it 15 years... never needed the other. When I say both can work, I mean either... I don't see any reason to have both!

GAC05

Quit buggin' me
I'm with the "both" crowd.
Corel does some things better than AI and AI does some things better than Draw.
Dollar for Dollar you will get more tools out of the CorelDraw suite.
If you look hard the $200.00 Draw to CS4 sidegrade is still out there (I think).
Then you'll have both for about the price of AI alone.

wayne k
guam usa

G

gps-hi

Either one will do. As to which is easier, that's mostly subjective for standard vector drawing. Each has their own unique strengths and weaknesses in some of the special tools, but again either will work. If possible find friends that have them, sit down and try each to see which best matches your own personal taste.

Both are just tools and are only as good as the user running them. Either will be huge improvement over signlab's polyline tools.

oakcitysigns